Final Garment Project

             For my final garment I made a red dress inspired by Katniss Everdeen, the main character from the film Hunger Games. My concept was fire, an idea taken from Cinna the designer in the movie. I originally wanted to use squared sequence fabric but since it was quite expensive I settled with the circle sequence fabric. I wanted to emphasis the fire flames focusing more on the bottom area. The fabric I used for the silhouette is a red sheer mesh fabric, making my dress a see-through with flames covering certain area. I first added 2 darts front and back pieces of the dress. With some fire flame designs, I covered the chest, pelvis and butt area. I split the bottom sides of the dress to extend the sequence fabric out to make the dress more of an hourglass silhouette. I lastly added an invisible red zipper on the side.

1.) Inspiration sketch from the film Hunger Games

photo 2 (2)

2.) 10 Swatches

photo 4 (2)

photo 5 (2)

3.) 10 Sketches of Ideas

photo 5

photo 5 (1)

photo 4

photo 4 (1)

photo 3

photo 3 (1)

photo 2

photo 2 (1)

photo 1

photo 1 (1)

4.) Final Garment Sketch and Swatches

photo 1 (2)

photo 3 (2)

5.) Patterns (Left back side and Right front side)

photo 4

6.) Muslin with Darts

photo 1

7.) Final Garment

photo 1 (1)

8.) Photoshoot

MO2

MO4

MO5

MO3

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

