Origami Design

My inspiration for the origami project comes from my triangle necklace.

traiI love triangles so I wanted a dress that incorporated triangles. Unlike the reading from The Cutting Edge, I did not want my garment to exaggerated with the shapes because I still wanted my garment to be easy access to get into. With the princess line, I created a dress above the knees keep is classy. I used the color mustard yellow and gray as a combination to outline the triangles in my dress. I emphasis the neckline with three triangles made by altering the two different colors. It is a three-dimensional shape and I choose the neckline to use it in replace of necklace. Triangles are also sewn on both sides of the dress because I wanted to show more details. Not just to focus on the upper half of the garment, but on the bottom and everywhere else.

1. Origami Triangle Pattern

20140212-125034.jpg

20140212-125043.jpg

2. Origami Triangle Sketch

20140212-125131.jpg

3. Origami Triangle Muslin

20140212-125207.jpg

4. Origami Triangle Dress Front and Side View

20140212-125244.jpg

Leave a Reply

